Musicians


Luis Frank Arias Mosquera, “El Macry” (vocals)
Born in Havana, Cuba on July 30, 1960
For years he performed alongside the great Compay Segundo (of Buena Vista Social Club) in concerts around the world. He also spent two years as the lead singer of the Afro-Cuban All Stars led by Juan de Marcos González (the musical director of Buena Vista Social Club).
One high point of his career was in 2004, when he was involved in making the film “Música Cubana” directed by Wim Winders and its soundtrack. The legendary Pío Leyva had also been one of the founding members of his own band, Soneros de Verdad. In that ensemble, even after Pío’s death he continues to be faithful to the tradition of son cubano.
Singer and bandleader Luis Frank has a command of the emotionally charged music of Cuba that is second to none. He is a master of son cubano!

Juan “Cotó” de la Cruz Antomarchi (tres cubano)
The “Jimmy Hendrix of Salsa”!
In connection with the making of the Wim Wenders-produced film “Música Cubana”, Luis Frank met Cotó, who is probably the best living Cuban tres player. By that time, Cotó had already toured the world with many giants of Latin music: the Afro-Cuban All Stars, Cubanismo, the Afro Cuban Jazz Project, Orlando Valle Maraca, Banacongo, El Africano Papá Noel, the Orquesta Internacional, and even the Finnish cult-rock group the Leningrad Cowboys has wanted Cotó, among other things for a festival in Helsinki where he performed in front of 40,000 people.

 

Lázaro Amauri Oviedo Dilout (trumpet and vocals)
Born in Havana on December 10, 1972.
Lázaro has worked with great musicians such as Juan de Marcos González (Afro-Cuban All Stars), Teresa Garcia Caturla (Buena Vista Social Club), Osmundo Calzado, Michael Brecker, and Augusto Enriques (Mambo Band). He has toured around the world several times and been involved in countless studio recording projects. When he is at home in Cuba, he also enjoys playing trumpet in the Cuban television and radio orchestra directed by Miguel Patterson. Lázaro is another prominent figure of the Cuban music scene.

 

Carlos Querol Aldana (guitar and vocals)
Born in Havana on February 27, 1966, he began his career in 1984 with Los Bocucos, whose leader was Roberto Correa. He has played with big names including Ibrahim Ferrer, Fernando Álvarez, and Carlos Montalvo Querol.
In 1991 he joined Carlos Puebla’s quintet. Recordings with various labels such as Sony Music, Fania Records, and Termidor made him well-known. International tours followed (to countries including Cyprus, Colombia, England, Spain, Italy, Switzerland, Austria, and Germany). He has also been involved in film music projects for Fuego Cubano and Aquella Casita Lejana. Carlos also continues to write and perform music for the theater in Cuba.

 

Alexander “El Vivo” García Barrera (percussion and vocals)
He was born in Havana on February 8, 1977. His family has long had a tradition of playing percussion instruments. The great singer Roberto Faz was a neighbor and friend of his. During the course of his career, García has played with many prominent Cuban ensembles and musicians including El Muzo y su Sonora, Los Caribeños, Colé Colé, Jelengue, Conexión Salsera, and Luis Frank Arias “El Macry”. Among other things, El Vivo has been involved in productions by opera star Béla Mavrák and schlager singer Roberto Blanco.

 

Fabián Sirgado Pérez (percussion and vocals)
Fabián is a highly talented percussionist and Latin drummer. He has already been involved in many studio projects and worked with prominent musicians such as Marjito Rivera “Mayito”, Ángel Bonne, César “Pupy” Pedroso (all formerly of Los Van Van); but also in projects of the German trumpet player Peter Krauss and the French pianist Ralf Schmid.

 

 

Nicolás Alberto Sirgado Llanes (bass and vocals)
Born in Havana on August 26, 1957. After studying music, he toured for a long time with the Orquesta de la Escuela Nacional de Arte (ENA) in Russia, Belarus, Moldavia, and Ukraine. Later he played with Afrocuba, Nicolás Reynoso, Arturo Sandoval, Pacho Alonso, Oru, and José María Vitier. Among other things, he accompanies the regional symphony orchestra and produces music for various television channels. In 1989 he was honored with the National Culture Award and the Medal of Capitán San Luis for his musical achievements. He continues to be active in many major tours and festivals.

Musiker


Luis Frank Arias Mosquera, “El Macry” (Vocals)
Geb. am 30.07.1960 in Havanna/Kuba.
Er war lange Zeit bei allen weltweiten Konzerten an der Seite des „großen“ Compay Segundo (Buena Vista Social Club). Zwei Jahre steuerte er die Leadstimme zu den Afro-Cuban All Stars unter Juan de Marcos González (dem musikalischen Leiter vom Buena Vista Social Club).
Ein Höhepunkt seiner Karriere war 2004 die Mitwirkung an dem von Wim Wenders präsentierten Film „Música Cubana“, sowie dem dazugehörigen Soundtrack. In seiner eigenen Formation (Soneros de Verdad) war ursprüngliches Gründungsmitglied unter anderem der legendäre Pío Leyva. In dieser Band bleibt er (auch nach seinem Tode) dem Son Cubano treu.Sänger & Leader Luis Frank beherrscht die gefühlsbetonte kubanische Musik wie kein anderer. Er ist ein Meister des Son Cubano!
Juan „Cotó“ de la Cruz Antomarchi (Tres Cubano)
– Der “Jimmy Hendrix der Salsa”!
Bei den Dreharbeiten zu Wim Wenders Film „Música Cubana“ traf Luis Frank auf Cotó, den wohl besten Tres-Spieler ganz Kubas. Er tourte bis dato bereits mehrfach mit vielen namhaften Größen der Latinmusik durch die ganze Welt: mit den Afro-Cuban All Stars, Cubanismo, dem Afro Cuban Jazz Project, Orlando Valle Maraca, Banacongo, El Africano Papa Noel, dem Orquesta Internacional – und sogar die Finnische Kult-Rockgruppe Leningrad Cowboys wollte Cotó unter anderem für ein Festival in Helsinki, wo er vor 40.000 Menschen auftrat.
Lázaro Amauri Oviedo Dilout (Trompete, Vocals)
Geboren am 10. Dezember 1972 in Havanna/Kuba.
Lázaro arbeitete zusammen mit Größen wie z.B. Juan de Marcos González (Afro-Cuban All Stars), Teresa Garcia Caturla (Buena Vista Social Club), Osmundo Calzado, Michael Brecker und Augusto Enriques (Mambo Band). Er tourte mehrfach um den Globus und wirkte in unzähligen Studioproduktionen mit. Wenn er zu Hause in Kuba ist, arbeitet er auch mal gerne als Trompeter im Orchester des kubanischen Radios und Fernsehens unter der Leitung von Miguel Patterson. Lázaro ist ebenfalls ein Begleiter der wichtigen kubanischen Musikszene.
Carlos Querol Aldana (Gitarre und Vocals)
Am 27. Februar 1966 in Havanna geboren, begann seine Karriere 1984 bei den Los Bocucos unter der Leitung von Roberto Correa. Er spielte zusammen mit Größen wie Ibrahim Ferrer, Fernando Álvarez und Carlos Montalvo Querol.
1991 wurde er Mitglied des Quintetts von Carlos Puebla. Produktionen mit verschiedenen Labels wie Sony Music, Fania Records und Termidor machten ihn bekannt. Es folgten internationale Tourneen (u.a. in Zypern, Kolumbien, England, Spanien, Italien, der Schweiz, Österreich, Deutschland,). Weiterhin wirkte er bei Filmmusikproduktionen für Fuego Cubano und Aquella Casita Lejana mit. Carlos schreibt und inszeniert bis heute Musikstücke für das Theater in Kuba.
Alexander „El Vivo“ García Barrera (Perkussion und Vocals)
Er wurde am 8. Februar 1977 in Havanna geboren. In seiner Familie hat das Spielen von Perkussionsinstrumenten eine sehr lange Tradition. Nachbar und Freund war der große Sänger Roberto Faz. Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat García mit vielen namhaften Gruppen und Musikern Kubas gespielt. Erwähnt seien hier Bands wie El Muzo y su Sonora, Los Caribeños, Colé Colé, Jelengue, Conexión Salsera und Luis Frank Arias “El Macry”. Unter anderem hat El Vivo bei Produktionen von Opernstar Béla Mavrák und Schlagersänger Roberto Blanco mitgewirkt.
Fabián Sirgado Pérez (Perkussion und Vocals)
Fabián ist ein hochbegabter Percussionist und Latindrummer. Er wirkte bereits in vielen Studioproduktionen mit und arbeitete mit namhaften Musikern wie Marjito Rivera „Mayito“, Ángel Bonne, César “Pupy” Pedroso (alle ehemals von den Los Van Van); aber auch an Projekten des deutschen Trompeters Peter Krauss und des französischen Pianisten Ralf Schmid.
Nicolás Alberto Sirgado Llanes (Bass und Vocals)
Wurde am 26. August 1957 in Havanna geboren. Nach seinem Musikstudium tourte er lange Zeit mit dem Orquesta de la Escuela Nacional de Arte (ENA) durch Russland, Weißrussland, Moldawien und die Ukraine. Später spielte er mit Afrocuba, Nicolás Reynoso, Arturo Sandoval, Pacho Alonso, Oru und José María Vitier. Er begleitet unter anderem auch das regionale Symphonieorchester und produzierte Musik für verschiedene TV-Sender. 1989 erhielt er die Auszeichnung für Nationale Kultur und der Orden des Capitán San Luis, für seine musikalischen Leistungen. Bis heute ist er weltweit bei vielen großen Tourneen und Festivals dabei.